Fish, Glorious FISH!! And Don’t Forget The Prawns!!

OK… I’ve shown you how to burn the grid clean… I’ve even shown you a 2 prawn taster. Now I’ll show you the whole thing. A week or so ago a friend at work told of stopping off in Howth to buy some fresh sea bass. He bbq’ed the fish and while he was relating the story I think both of us were salivating. Him at the memory of his experience and me at the reminders of many a fish braais back in the bad old SA.

Then, to my delight, I found out last Saturday that we weren’t required for taxi duties until late afternoon so I convinced the special one that we should head off to Howth, for a walk and to get ourselves a few fish to throw on the braai. I’ll confess, in all the years in Ireland I have NEVER braaied fish! Time then, for things to change. We enjoyed our walk-about on the Howth Head… taking in the scenery and happily snapping away like tourists. Well, I can get away with it because of my strong SA accent. So, it’s easy to blend in and act dumb.

OK, back to the story. We visited one of Dublin’s famous fisheries… and walked away with 5 fish and about half a kilo of prawns. All for a few cents less than 30 yo-yo’s! Oh, don’t forget the massive lemon. Back home, I doctored the ingredients while the good lady went off to acquire the makings of a few salads, and her delectable creamed mushrooms.

You may wonder why so little prawns. It’s really only me who eats them, Granddad and Junior Son will usually have a few each but mostly the job of devouring the pink tails falls upon my frail shoulders. OK, enough waffle… here’s the gallery. Before I get going though… not good tourists we turned out to be… not a single photo of the inside or outside of the fish merchant’s place… so, as advertising I’ll have to show you the carrier bag I set off with…

Lessons learned?

  1. Kick self’s posterior, repeatedly… for waiting this long to braai fish!
  2. The GLW is warming to prawns… next time I’ll shell them and let her enjoy them in a salad
  3. Maybe it will be wise covering the fish with a lid to cook evenly…
  4. Refer to lesson 1…
  5. Try other fish on the braai as well… the sea bass is a tad bony! Nothing like a good shad on the braai!
  6. Refer to lesson 1

PS – The rain lashed down at one point… but there’s nothing top stop a Saffer braaiing!!

your's truly braving the elements... again!

Oh well… this makes it all worthwhile! The GLW posted this on her FB page… to great response!

Not too shabby, even if I may say so myself!

Leave a Reply

