Lamb Sosaties…

Whoopy!! We have meat on the braai again! No baking skills today… just real carnivorous culinary delights!

On Saturday we had a wee celebratory braai. If you really must know the reason, yours truly completed another orbit around the sun. I wanted to add a bit of variety so I did some homework. We usually have steak for birthdays but I went off to our friendly butcher last Thursday evening to discuss my options. On Saturday morning the GLW collected all the bits and pieces I’d ordered. Lamb chunks, chicken wings and the necessary steak.

I think, those who know me, will by now know that for me the preparation is just as much fun as the actual braaiing. Some will say that’s because I indulge in a sup or two… just like my first telly food hero, the inimitable Sir Keith Floyd! That man was a legend, there’s no arguing the fact. OK, back to the ingredients. The good lady picked up some fresh veggies as well so after trimming the meat I diced a few peppers, an onion and tomatoes.

Once the meat had been prepared I placed it in a bowl and doctored it with juices of my choice. Lemon, white wine… garlic and herbs. Another tip I learned some time ago, place the skewer sticks in water to soak them thoroughly… that helps prevent them burning away on the hot coals. Then, once all the cutting, slicing and dicing is complete one can begin assembling the sosaties… here goes a gallery to illustrate…

1 thought on “Lamb Sosaties…

  1. Pingback: Three Course Meal? | Ouch!! My back hurts!!

Leave a comment